Summer Cleaning Schedule

SCHOOL’S OUT! I’m thrilled to be home for the summer – my first free summer in years. My cleaning and organization schedules went out the window during the school year, thus my house is a wreck. The dust bunny militia under my couch is starting to take over my home. Scary!

For starters, I have determined to deep clean one room a day for two weeks (not that I have 14 rooms, but I need some free days for maintaining my sanity. My hope is that I will be able to maintain my home once I get it deep cleaned.

Here’s the plan:

  • have three empty laundry baskets available (keepers, donations, and trash)
  • line the donations and trash baskets with garbage bags
  • go through every closet, drawer, pile, etc and sort stuff
  • purge, purge, purge
  • clean each space, drawer, cubby hole, etc as I go
  • clean drapes
  • launder bedding (yes, including the comforter set and blankets)
  • move furniture to clean behind and underneath
  • dust, vacuum, dust, vacuum
  • start at the ceiling and work my way down to the floor
  • start at the door and work clockwise around the room
  • one room a day, and one room only (heehee The Hunt For Red October reference)
  • I will work for no more than two hours each day. If I don’t finish, I will pick up where I left the day before.

With this schedule, I should be able to have our home in tip-top shape in two weeks’ time. Whoo-hoo!

About Amy Caldwell

Home Work. It is probably the most important work we do. The time and energy investing in our homes can make a world of difference and a difference in our world. Juggling work, kids, groceries, church, husband, dinner, and cleaning may be a feat worthy of head-lining the circus, but as long as I have coffee, it's all good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

