Cleaning Zones

 

I took a cue from FlyLady and divided my home into cleaning zones.  The zones she has didn’t work well for me, so I adjusted them to fit my needs.  I have five zones:

1.  Entrance, Front Porch, Dining Room

2.  Kitchen, Bathrooms

3.  Kids’ Bedrooms, Playroom

4.  Master Bedroom, Office

5.  Living Room, Guest Room

I then assigned a week for each cleaning zone.  I realize that, generally, most months have four full weeks and I have five zones.  The end of the month / first of the next month, I determine which parts of Zones 1 and 5 need the most attention and clean those areas.  I make sure to hit the other areas as needed throughout the month.

 

Then, I have assigned Tuesday and Wednesday as my deep cleaning days.  On those days I clean from top to bottom in the assigned area.  My detailed cleaning checklists are on the file widget in PDF form.  By completing a one-month cycle, I have basically deep-cleaned my home.  I work for no more than one hour each day.  When time is up, I quit.

 

It has been amazing to me how quickly I am able to clean.  It took a few months to get my home to the point where it was easy to clean, but now it seems like it almost cleans itself.  One thing that has really helped is to tackle those hot spots – places where clutter collects – every day.  I take 15 minutes at the end of each day and clean those spots up.  Then, I don’t have piles and piles of things to sort through on my cleaning days.

About Amy Caldwell

Home Work. It is probably the most important work we do. The time and energy investing in our homes can make a world of difference and a difference in our world. Juggling work, kids, groceries, church, husband, dinner, and cleaning may be a feat worthy of head-lining the circus, but as long as I have coffee, it's all good.
This entry was posted in Home Management, Household Notebook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

